Need Help With "Case Conversion"; Scripts

Hey guys. I'm going to apologize in advance for asking about something which has likely been asked countless times before, but I'm having a very hard time finding the information I need.

Basically, I would like to run a "case conversion" which corrects filenames/tags to Mixed Case on slightly over 30k files. I found the stock Action for doing this in Mp3tag, but it has a few unwanted quirks. For instance, the filename "04 - W.A.S.P.mp3" is changed to "04 - W.a.s.p.mp3". Roman numerals are also affected in a similar manner. I'm sure this has been dealt with in the past.

I've tried searching for scripts that others have created, but the threads I'm finding usually contain a multitude of scripts from several users, none of which are fully explained. Since I have no programming knowledge, I have no idea what they actually do, and I'm not even sure I know how to implement them. Can someone point me in the right direction?

You have a couple of ways to do this and here are a those examples.

Begin Action Group Clean-Up 1.2 # Case Retain CAPS With Title Case Elsewhere Action #1 Actiontype 5: Format value Field ______: _FILENAME Formatstring: $caps2(%album%,' -(["'.-') End Action Group Clean-Up 1.2 # Case Retain CAPS With Title Case Elsewhere (1 Action)

Basically as you can see at the link below for further learning the $caps2 doesn't change what is already caps. Which is what you require. The second parameter '' -(["'.-'' is optional and specifies additional characters that triggers upper case. In this case they are -(["'.-. Before - notice there is a whitespace (blank character).

You are going to have to add other actions to the group (see here) for other tags like ARTIST etc using the format value method.

OR use Replace with regular expression where you can affect _ALL (all tags including filename)

Begin Action Group