Need help with Filename - Filename

Hi everyone!

I just joined this group, so hello!

Though I have been using the tool for quite some years now, I would like to start by admitting that I am a complete newbie as regards using the syntaxes that are used in this software.

I have a specific issue with regard to file renaming. I have a lot of music files across 10 flash drives and organised by Album, because my Fiat Blue & Me audio system allows me that luxury.

However, I have since past two years been travelling on international projects and hence no car!!

I do have with me something called a Sound Micro from Nakamichi which allows me to use flash drives to listen to music. The player has its own complicated way of programming music which I want to avoid as it would be cumbersome.

I suddenly recalled MP3Tag helped me a lot a few years ago and I had completely forgotten about it. I know it can do the job but my limited knowledge on using it restricts me.

Each flash drive has multiple albums and the tracks are numbered per album, meaning Album A has 10 tracks and they are numbered (as you see under the # column of Windows Explorer) 1 to 10, then Album 2 has 20 songs and they are numbered 1-20 and so on.

What I would like to do is to first sort ALL songs by Album (in Windows Explorer) and then rename them such that the album-wise sequence remains intact. So the songs will therefore have a three digit number at the beginning, e.g. 023 Candle in the Wind, so that when I plug in the flash drive into the Nakamichi, the songs start playing by sequential numbering order rather than alphabetical order like it is doing now (and thus playing tracks from different albums in alphabetical sequence).

If I could get some help on how to do it using Filename - Filename conversion, I shall be grateful.

Many many thanks in advance.

Regards.