Where are new tags saved?

OK, absolute newbie here...I have managed to change 2 tags, I saved them, now where does Mp3tag save them? Can't locate them. Duh, on me. Once found, how do I replace the old file with the new one?

In the file you had selected at the time.

You don't need to.

Tags are saved INSIDE the actual audio file. Old tags are replaced with new tags inside the audio file itself.

[quote name='Chris Hirst' post='75030']
In the file you had selected at the time.
Thanks for your reply, Chris. I think I get it, but I don't see my changes in the right side panel and if I go back to the same file and reopen it in Mp3tag, the details are the same "old" information, not my new changes. Can you please elaborate?

Thanks for your reply, garym. I still don't quite get it... see my reply to Chris.

something odd is going on. Are you sure you don't have more that one type of tag within a single file. That is possible (but not a good idea). Create a custom column, right click on column, create custom, give it name TAG TYPE, and then use this as the "value"

%_tag_read%[ (%_tag%)]

also note after you make the tag changes, you do have to click the SAVE icon when editing tags.

Also in Mp3tag go to Tools > Tags > Mpeg and make sure the box "ID3v2" is checked under "Write".

Yes, I made my change in the tag panel (left panel, wright?) and my change was the track number only.

Thanks for your reply, stanman. I checked my settings and the ID3v3 was checked.

did you ever confirm that you have only ONE type of tag within the file (as one could have APE, ID3V2 and ID3v1 all in the same file). See my earlier post on how to check.

Get MP3 Diags and scan the Mp3 file to see what shows up.

It could be you have two (or more) ID3v2.3 tags on the file and Mp3tag will only show one of them. You're supposed to only have one ID3v2.3 tag on the file, but sometimes by using two or more different tagging programs you can end up with more than one.